Nicole E. Jackson Logo

Texting While Driving Illegal in Texas

Texting While Driving Illegal in Texas

Texting while driving is not only hazardous but now can get you a fine of $25-99 for first-time offenders and $100-200 for repeat offenders. If you cause an accident due to texting and driving which causes a fatality or serious bodily injury, you can be fined up to $4,000 and a jail term up to one year. The law targets those who are on their phones reading, writing, or sending a text message while driving their car. Here are some tips for you: 
 

  • Utilize your Bluetooth headsets or apps that have dictation that can type out your spoken words
  •  
  • You may use your cell phone if you are contacting emergency services (911) to report a wreck, fire, or another emergency
  •  
  • The law does not apply to you using your phone for mapping (GPS) or music purposes or for dialing a phone number however if the police officer believes you are texting and driving, they may still pull you over to investigate 
  •  
  • Texas laws still apply forbidding use of phones in school zones
  •  
It is also advisable to err on the side of caution and not use your phone while in the vehicle unless it is an absolute necessity. Keep the streets safe and stay alert while driving at all times.  

Follow Us:

 © Nicole E. Jackson Law Firm